President's Message

Jay600x600 (1).jpg

I am honoured and grateful for this opportunity to be the Chapter President for the 2017-2018 term. This year marks the 65th year of our Chapter’s Inauguration. We have an extraordinary year planned ahead. Namely, we have scheduled a wide range of dinner topics and have put a special emphasis on having our speakers discuss local issues and topics for our members.

Our focus at the Board for the past year has been to increase engagement and visibility for our members. We have continued upgrades to the website, considering that this is the main communication tool for all our members. One new element being video posts from dinner meetings. This adds another form of engagement for the out-of-town members, and those who have difficulty attending the meetings. 

From an organizational point of view, we have been updating systems and best practices within the management of the Chapter to make it easier for future Board members to participate and transition through the multiple positions our Chapter offers. With these changes, it is easier than ever to become a Board member and to further engage in ASHRAE.  

When I look around the table at our Board of Governors meetings I see all industry segments, all age groups, and all backgrounds – this diversity is what I believe is our strength. We have a very active membership that is as diverse as British Columbia itself. I am proud to serve as President for the term of 2017-2018, and to be a part of this long-engaged Chapter history.

I look forward to shaking your hand at the next ASHRAE event, and thank you for being a part of our ASHRAE Chapter.

Jay Jagpal

Chapter President 2017-2018


Member Directory


Board of Governors 2017/2018

President: Jay Jagpal

President Elect: Baki Cvijetnovic

Vice President: Gavin McCallum

Treasurer: Jeff Hocquard

Secretary: Rhys Gamache

Governor: Eric Bradley

Governor: Rob Flipse

Governor: Chris Collett

Governor: Peter Sung

Past President: Randy Stuart

CRC Delegate: Jay Jagpal

CRC Alternate: Baki Cvijetinovic

Government Affairs (GGAC): Les Pereira

Programs: Gavin McCallum


Membership Promotion: Mo Afshin

Research Promotion: Randy Stuart

Technology Awards: Randy Stuart

Sustainability: Derek Bartley

Refrigeration: Hamid Azarnoush

Honours and Awards: Rob Flipse

Historian: Norm Grusnick

Golf Tournament: Norm Grusnick

Young Engineers in ASHRAE (YEA): Ali Zahedi

Student Activities: Manny Daid

Website: Derek Bartley

Newsletter Editor: Derek Bartley

Attendance: Ali Zahedi